Starting in January 2012, ITS will administer Windows Updates for all University Windows-based computers to enhance performance, reliability and security.
Updates will be administered through the University's next-generation desktop management system, System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM). SCCM has replaced the previous ZENWorks Desktop Management and Patchlink systems.
For end users, you will notice a new desktop prompt to install Windows security updates as they become available.
Please do not stop or interrupt the process during these installs. Users can expect an update window to appear on screen prompting for installation and a computer reboot. For more information about ITS deploying security updates and how to install the new updates, please visit the Windows Security Updates web page on the ITS website.
For step by step instructions for installing the new updates, please click here.
If you notice any issues with your computer, that you believe may be related to this upgrade, please inform the IT Service Desk 314-977-4000 immediately.
Follow the instructions below to install the new software:
Whenever new Software Updates are available for your machine, a popup balloon will let you know that new updates are available to be installed. This balloon will appear on your computer only if there are software updates available:
To view the software updates available, double click on the green arrow in the System Tray.
The System Tray icon will open the Configuration Manager - Available Software Updates menu. View a list of updates that are available by selecting "Custom" and the "Next" button.
To install the updates, check the updates and select "Install" or the updates will install at the time of the deadline.
When "Install" is selected, the updates will download and install. This could take several minutes.
After the updates have installed, you will have the option to select "Restart Now" or "Close."
If you choose "Close," you will see that the icon in the system tray will turn red and will remain red until you reboot your machine.