We, the undersigned department chairs and program directors of the College of Arts and Sciences, fully support the <u>Message to the SLU Community</u> of Dr. Chris Tinson, Director of African American Studies at Saint Louis University. We share his call for a "robust, thriving, and supported African American Studies department" as central to the institutional transformation to which SLU committed itself in the Clock Tower Accords of 2014. We call upon the university to prioritize and underwrite the growth of African American Studies.

In addition, we commit ourselves and our departments to listening, investigating, and acting to enhance our connections to the discipline of African American Studies. Many scholars and teachers in our disciplines work to contribute to the projects of racial and social justice. Yet Dr. Tinson's message reminds us that we still fall short of many of our shared ideals regarding equity and racial justice as a Jesuit institution.

We can and should and will do more.

June 19, 2020

Signed,

Heidi Ardizzone, Ph.D. Chair, American Studies

Fr. David J. Suwalsky, S.J., Ph.D. Chair, Department of Theological Studies

Dan Kozlowski Chair, Communication

Jason T. Eberl Director, Albert Gnaegi Center for Health Care Ethics

Cathleen Fleck, Ph.D.
Chair, Fine and Performing Arts Department

Nancy Bell, M.F.A. Director of Theatre Program, Fine and Performing Arts

Laurie P. Shornick, PhD Chair, Department of Biology Bretton M. DeLaria, MA Director, 1818 Advanced College Credit Program and Visiting Young Scholars

Joya Uraizee, PhD Associate Chair, English

Judith Ogilvie, PhD Co-Director, Neuroscience

Aaron Johnson, DMA Director, Music Program

Jeffrey D. Gfeller, Ph.D. Professor & Chair, Psychology

Robert Hughes, PhD Associate Chair, Department of Fine and Performing Arts

Thomas Finan, PhD, FSA Chair, Department of History

Irma Kuljanishvili, PhD, Chair, Department of Physics

Fr. David Meconi, SJ, D.Phil. (*Oxon.*) Director, Catholic Studies Centre

Michael Goldwasser, PhD Chair, Department of Computer Science

Erin Chambers, PhD Associate Chair, Department of Computer Science

Amy Alton Bautz, MFA Program Director, Studio Art

Toby R. Benis, PhD Professor & Chair, Department of English Scott Ragland, PhD

Professor & Chair, Department of Philosophy

Kathleen M. Llewellyn, PhD

Professor & Chair, Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Pascale Perraudin, PhD

Associate Professor, Associate Chair, Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Bryan Clair, PhD

Chairperson, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Tony W. Buchanan, PhD

Professor of Psychology and Co-Director, Neuroscience Program

Gretchen Arnold, PhD

Chair, Women's and Gender Studies

**Chuck Graves** 

Chair, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Scott Martin, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Chemistry

Marvin Meyers, PhD

Director, Chemical Biology Program

Charles C. Kirkpatrick

Associate Chair, Department of Chemistry

Thomas Madden

Director, CMRS

Olga Arbelaez, Ph.D.

Micah Program Director