

The Center for Health Law Studies and ASLME thank the nominating committee and readers for their participation in this project.

RECENT READERS:

HAROLD BRASWELL, SLU Albert Gnaegi Center for Health Care Ethics

ELIZABETH CHIARELLO, SLU College of Arts & Sciences

BRIETTA CLARK, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles

NATHAN CORTEZ, Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law

MARY CROSSLEY, University of Pittsburgh School of Law

KELLY K. DINEEN, Creighton University School of Law

JAMES M. DUBOIS, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

BARBARA EVANS*, University of Houston Law Center

TIM GREANEY, SLU LAW (Emeritus); UC Hastings College of Law

MARK HALL, Wake Forest University School of Law

SHARONA HOFFMAN, Case Western Reserve University School of Law

KIMBELL KORNU, SLU Albert Gnaegi Center for Health Care Ethics

NINA KOHN, Syracuse University College of Law

STEPHANIE MCCLURE, SLU College for Public Health & Social Justice

ELIZABETH MCCUSKEY*, SLU LAW (Visitor Fall '17), University of Toledo College of Law

RICHARD MIDDLETON, University of Missouri-St. Louis, College of Arts & Sciences

AMY MONAHAN, University of Minnesota Law School

JORDAN PARADISE, Loyola University Chicago School of Law

EFTHIMIOS PARASIDIS*, The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

LINDSAY WILEY*, American University Washington College of Law

ROBERT GATTER*, JESSE GOLDNER, SANDRA JOHNSON, CHAD FLANDERS, ELIZABETH PENDO, SIDNEY D. WATSON, SILILAW

*Denotes past Health Law Scholar

RECENT NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

SCOTT BURRIS, Temple University Beasley School of Law

ROBERT GATTER, SLU LAW

DIANE HOFFMANN, University of Maryland School of Law

SHARONA HOFFMAN, Case Western Reserve University School of Law

JOHN JACOBI, Seton Hall School of Law

JOAN KRAUSE, University of North Carolina School of Law

KEVIN OUTTERSON, Boston University School of Law

ROBERT SCHWARTZ, UC Hastings College of Law

SIDNEY D. WATSON, SLU LAW

LINDSAY WILEY, American University Washington College of Law

NONPROFIT ORG U.S. POSTAGE **PAID** ST. LOUIS, MO PERMIT NO. 134

SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY

CENTER FOR HEALTH LAW STUDIES 100 N. TUCKER BLVD., ST. LOUIS, MO 63101-1930



SLU LAW

THE CENTER FOR HEALTH LAW STUDIES

2018 HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS WORKSHOP







HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS WORKSHOP

The Center for Health Law Studies at Saint Louis University and the American Society of Law, Medicine & Ethics (ASLME) are pleased to announce the 2018 Health Law Scholars Workshop. The Health Law Scholars Workshop is a collegial forum in which faculty new to health law and bioethics scholarship present works-in-progress and receive in-depth advice from experienced scholars and teachers in the field of health law and bioethics. The workshop encourages health and bioethics scholarship, fosters the professional development of emerging scholars and furthers the sense of community among health law academics. Past scholars have placed their papers for publication in preeminent law journals.

Scholars workshop their works-in-progress before a group of experienced peer reviewers and commentators. Each author's work-in-progress accepted for the Health Law Scholars Workshop will be read in advance by several faculty members in relevant fields. During the workshop weekend, each author presents his or her paper to the full group. After extensive oral feedback from the readers, the floor is opened for a sustained exchange between the presenter and full group.

The workshop draws health law and bioethics scholars from across the country, inviting senior faculty from a variety of law schools and disciplines to review the works-in-progress and participate in the weekend. The workshop also draws on the expertise of Saint Louis University faculty from the Center for Health Law Studies, the University's School of Medicine, College for Public Health and Social Justice, School of Nursing and Albert Gnaegi Center for Health Care Ethics.

2017 HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS

GOVIND PERSAD, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health MEDHA D. MAKHLOUF, Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson Law JALAYNE ARIAS, University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine MATTHEW J.B. LAWRENCE, Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson Law

2016

WENDY NETTER EPSTEIN, DePaul University College of Law JASMINE C. HARRIS, UC Davis School of Law ELIZABETH MCCUSKEY, University of Toledo College of Law RACHEL SACHS, Washington University School of Law

2015

CRAIG KONNOTH, University of Colorado Law School
PATRICIA J. ZETTLER, Georgia State University College of Law
VALARIE BLAKE, West Virginia University College of Law
W. NICHOLSON PRICE, University of Michigan School of Law

2014

JOHN ALOYSIUS COGAN, JR., University of Connecticut School of Law

ERIN FUSE BROWN, Georgia State University College of Law JESSICA LIND MANTEL, University of Houston Law Center ELIZABETH SEPPER, Washington University School of Law

2013

ZACK BUCK, University of Tennessee College of Law
ANNA B. LAAKMANN, Greenberg Traurig LLP
KATHERINE T. VUKADIN, Texas Southern University Thurgood
Marshall School of Law

DIANA R. H. WINTERS, Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law

CALL FOR PAPERS

A nominating committee selects the papers to be presented at the workshop. The committee looks for papers that have an original thesis and will contribute to scholarly literature. The workshop is designed primarily to provide feedback on articles intended for spring submission to law review journals. The workshop is not designed to review published work or papers already accepted for publication.

Those interested in presenting a health law or bioethics work-in-progress at the Health Law Scholars Workshop should submit a 500-word abstract of the proposed paper together with a resumé to Cheryl Cooper at Saint Louis University School of Law by April 9, 2018. Because a blind selection process is used, please do not include the author's name or institutional affiliation on the abstract. Questions about the submission process should be directed to Prof. Sidney D. Watson at Sidney.Watson@slu.edu or 314-977-2751.

SUBMISSIONS MAY BE MADE BY MAIL OR EMAIL TO:

Cheryl Cooper, Program Coordinator Center for Health Law Studies Saint Louis University

School of Law

100 N. Tucker Blvd. **T:** (314) 977-3067

St. Louis, MO 63101-1930 E: Cheryl.Cooper@slu.edu

2018 TIMELINE

APRIL 9 Submission of Abstracts for Consideration

MAY 18 Notification of Selection of Workshop Scholars

AUG. 30 Works-in-Progress Due SEPT. 27—29 Scholars Weekend