

The Center for Health Law Studies and ASLME thank the nominating committee and readers for their participation in this project.

RECENT READERS:

HEATHER BEDNAREK, SLU Chaifetz School of Business

HAROLD BRASWELL, SLU Albert Gnaegi Center for Health Care Ethics

ZACK BUCK*, University of Tennessee College of Law

ELIZABETH CHIARELLO, SLU College of Arts & Sciences

BRIETTA CLARK, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles

JAMES M. DUBOIS, Washington University, School of Medicine

BARBARA EVANS*, University of Houston Law Center

IRENE GRAHAM, SLU School of Medicine, Center for Vaccine Development

TIM GREANEY, (Emeritus) Saint Louis University School of Law; UC Hastings College of Law

SAM HALABI, University of Missouri School of Law

MARK HALL, Wake Forest University School of Law

LESLIE HINYARD, SLU Center for Outcomes Research

SHARONA HOFFMAN, Case Western Reserve University School of Law

DIANE HOFFMANN, University of Maryland Carey School of Law

NINA KOHN, Syracuse University College of Law

TRUDO LEMMENS, University of Toronto Faculty of Law

ELIZABETH MCCUSKEY*, University of Toledo College of Law

FRED ROTTNEK, SLU School of Medicine and Doisy College of Health Sciences

ROSS SILVERMAN, Indiana University Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health

LINDSAY WILEY*, American University Washington College of Law

ROBERT GATTER*, JESSE GOLDNER, SANDRA JOHNSON, ELIZABETH PENDO, ANA SANTOS RUTSCHMAN*, SIDNEY D. WATSON, RUQAIIJAH YEARBY, Saint Louis University School of Law

*Denotes past Health Law Scholar

RECENT NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

ROBERT GATTER, SLU LAW

SHARONA HOFFMAN, Case Western Reserve University School of Law

DIANE HOFFMANN, University of Maryland Carey School of Law

JOHN JACOBI, Seton Hall School of Law

JOAN KRAUSE, University of North Carolina School of Law

KEVIN OUTTERSON, Boston University School of Law

ROBERT SCHWARTZ, UC Hastings College of Law

SIDNEY D. WATSON, SLU LAW, Chair

LINDSAY WILEY, American University Washington College of Law

NONPROFIT ORG U.S. POSTAGE PAID ST. LOUIS, MO PFRMIT NO. 134

SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY

100 N. TUCKER BLVD. ST. LOUIS, MO 63101-1930 STU EDU/LAW/HEALTH

CENTER FOR HEALTH LAW STUDIES



SLU LAW

THE CENTER FOR HEALTH LAW STUDIES

2020 HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS WORKSHOP



2019 Health Law Scholars





HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS WORKSHOP

The Center for Health Law Studies at Saint Louis University and the American Society of Law, Medicine & Ethics (ASLME) are pleased to announce the 2020 Health Law Scholars Workshop. The Health Law Scholars Workshop is a collegial forum in which faculty new to health law and bioethics scholarship present works-in-progress and receive in-depth advice from experienced scholars and teachers in the field of health law and bioethics. The workshop encourages health and bioethics scholarship, fosters the professional development of emerging scholars and furthers the sense of community among health law academics. Past scholars have placed their papers for publication in preeminent law journals.

Scholars workshop their works-in-progress before a group of experienced peer reviewers and commentators. Each author's work-in-progress accepted for the Health Law Scholars Workshop will be read in advance by several faculty members in relevant fields. During the workshop weekend, each author presents his or her paper to the full group. After extensive oral feedback from the readers, the floor is opened for a sustained exchange between the presenter and full group.

The workshop also draws on the expertise of Saint Louis University faculty from the Center for Health Law Studies, School of Medicine, College for Public Health and Social Justice, School of Nursing and Albert Gnaegi Center for Health Care Ethics.



2019 HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS

MATIANGAI SIRLEAF, University of Pittsburgh School of Law MICHAEL ULRICH, Boston University School of Public Health KAYTE SPECTOR-BAGDADY, University of Michigan Medical School JACOB ELBERG, Seton Hall School of Law

2018 HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS

CLAUDIA E. HAUPT, Northeastern University School of Law
MYRISHA LEWIS, Howard University School of Law
ANA SANTOS RUTSCHMAN, Saint Louis University School of Law
MEGAN S. WRIGHT, Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson Law and Penn
State College of Medicine

2017 HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS

GOVIND PERSAD, University of Denver, Sturm College of Law MEDHA D. MAKHLOUF, Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson Law JALAYNE ARIAS, University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine MATTHEW J.B. LAWRENCE, Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson Law

2016

WENDY NETTER EPSTEIN, DePaul University College of Law JASMINE C. HARRIS, UC Davis School of Law ELIZABETH MCCUSKEY, University of Toledo College of Law RACHEL SACHS, Washington University School of Law

2015

CRAIG KONNOTH, University of Colorado Law School
PATRICIA J. ZETTLER, Georgia State University College of Law
VALARIE BLAKE, West Virginia University College of Law
W. NICHOLSON PRICE, University of Michigan Law School

CALL FOR PAPERS

A nominating committee selects the papers to be presented at the workshop. The committee looks for papers that have an original thesis and will contribute to scholarly literature. The workshop is designed primarily to provide feedback on articles intended for spring submission to law review journals. The workshop is not designed to review published work or papers already accepted for publication.

Those interested in presenting a health law or bioethics work-in-progress at the Health Law Scholars Workshop should submit a 500-word abstract of the proposed paper together with a resumé to Cheryl Cooper at Saint Louis University School of Law by April 6, 2020. Because a blind selection process is used, please do not include the author's name or institutional affiliation on the abstract. Questions about the submission process should be directed to Prof. Sidney D. Watson at Sidney.Watson@slu.edu or 314-977-2751.

SUBMISSIONS MAY BE MADE BY MAIL OR EMAIL TO:

Cheryl Cooper, Program Coordinator Center for Health Law Studies Saint Louis University School of Law

100 N. Tucker Blvd. **T:** (314) 977-3067

St. Louis, MO 63101-1930 E: Cheryl.Cooper@slu.edu

2020 TIMELINE

APRIL 6 Submission of Abstracts for Consideration

MAY 15 Notification of Selection of Workshop Scholars

AUG. 24 Works-in-Progress Due SEPT. 24–26 Scholars Weekend