

The Center for Health Law Studies and the ASLME would like to thank the nominating committee and the reviewers for their participation in this project.

RECENT REVIEWERS:

HEATHER BEDNAREK, Saint Louis University School of Business HAROLD BRASWELL, Saint Louis University Albert Gnaegi Center for Health Care Ethics

THOMAS BURROUGHS, Saint Louis University Center for Outcomes Research

ELIZABETH CHIARELLO, Saint Louis University College of Arts & Sciences

NATHAN CORTEZ, Southern Methodist University,

Dedman School of Law

MARY CROSSLEY, University of Pittsburgh, School of Law BARBARA EVANS*, University of Houston Law Center PETER JACOBSON, University of Michigan, School of Law; School of Public Health

AMBER KNIGHT, Saint Louis University College of Arts & Sciences

NINA KOHN, Syracuse University College of Law AMY MONAHAN, University of Minnesota Law School

JORDAN PARADISE, Loyola University Chicago School of Law

EFTHIMIOS PARASIDIS*, The Ohio State University Moritz

College of Law; College of Public Health

JASON S. TURNER, Saint Louis University College of Public Health & Social Justice

LINDSAY WILEY*, American University Washington College of Law KELLY DINEEN, ROBERT GATTER*, JESSE GOLDNER, TIM GREANEY, SANDRA JOHNSON, MARCIA MCCORMICK, ELIZABETH PENDO, SIDNEY WATSON,

Saint Louis University School of Law

*Denotes past Health Law Scholar

RECENT NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

SCOTT BURRIS, Temple University Beasley School of Law TIM GREANEY, Saint Louis University School of Law DIANE HOFFMANN, University of Maryland School of Law SHARONA HOFFMAN, Case Western Reserve University School of Law

JOHN JACOBI, Seton Hall School of Law

KEVIN OUTTERSON, Boston University School of Law

ELIZABETH PENDO, Saint Louis University School of Law

 ${\color{red}\textbf{ROBERT SCHWARTZ}, University of California\ Hastings\ College\ of\ Law}$

SIDNEY WATSON, Saint Louis University School of Law

NONPROFIT ORG U.S. POSTAGE PAID ST. LOUIS, MO PERMIT NO. 134

SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY

CENTER FOR HEALTH LAW STUDIES 100 N. TUCKER BLVD., ST. LOUIS, MO 63101-1930

S I S B

SLU LAW

THE CENTER FOR HEALTH LAW STUDIES

2017 HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS WORKSHOP



2016 Health Law Scholars





HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS WORKSHOP

The Center for Health Law Studies at Saint Louis University and the American Society of Law, Medicine & Ethics (ASLME) are pleased to announce the 2017 Health Law Scholars Workshop. The Health Law Scholars Workshop is a collegial forum in which faculty new to health law and bioethics scholarship present works-in-progress and receive in-depth advice from experienced scholars and teachers in the field of health law and bioethics. The workshop encourages health and bioethics scholarship, fosters the professional development of emerging scholars and furthers the sense of community among health law academics. Past scholars have placed their papers for publication in preeminent law journals.

Scholars workshop their work-in-progress before a group of experienced peer reviewers and commentators. Each author's work-in-progress accepted for the Health Law Scholars Workshop will be read in advance by several faculty members in relevant fields. During the workshop weekend, each author presents his or her paper to the full group. After extensive oral feedback from the readers, the floor is opened for a sustained exchange between the presenter and full group.

The workshop draws health law and bioethics scholars from across the country, inviting senior faculty from a variety of law schools and disciplines to review the works-in-progress and participate in the weekend. The workshop also draws on the expertise of Saint Louis University faculty from the Center for Health Law Studies, the University's Medical School, School of Public Health, Nursing School and Center for Health Care Ethics.

2016 HEALTH LAW SCHOLARS (above, L to R)

RACHEL SACHS, Washington University School of Law

JASMINE HARRIS, UC Davis School of Law

WENDY NETTER EPSTEIN, DePaul University College of Law

ELIZABETH MCCUSKEY, University of Toledo College of Law

2015

PATRICIA J. ZETTLER, Georgia State University College of Law
VALERIE BLAKE, West Virginia University College of Law
W. NICHOLSON PRICE, University of Michigan School of Law
CRAIG KONNOTH, University of Pennsylvania Law School

2014

JESSICA LIND MANTEL, University of Houston Law Center ERIN FUSE BROWN, Georgia State University College of Law JOHN COGAN, University of Connecticut School of Law ELIZABETH SEPPER, Washington University School of Law

2013

DIANA WINTERS, Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law **KATHERINE VUKADIN**, Texas Southern University Thurgood Marshall School of Law

ANNA LAAKMANN, Greenberg Traurig

ZACK BUCK, Mercer University Walter F. George School of Law

2012

LEO BELETSKY, Northeastern University School of Law and Bouve College of Health Sciences

LINDSAY F. WILEY, American University Washington College of Law

ALENA M. ALLEN, University of Memphis Cecil B. Humphreys School of Law

CHRISTINA S. HO, Rutgers School of Law-Newark

CALL FOR PAPERS

A nominating committee selects the papers to be presented at the workshop. The committee looks for papers that have an original thesis and will contribute to scholarly literature. The workshop is designed primarily to provide feedback on articles intended for spring submission to law review journals. The workshop is not designed to review published work or papers already accepted for publication.

Those interested in presenting a health law or bioethics work-in-progress at the Health Law Scholars Workshop should submit a 500-word abstract of the proposed paper together with a resumé to Cheryl Cooper at Saint Louis University School of Law by April 10, 2017. Because a blind selection process is used, please do not include the author's name or institutional affiliation on the abstract. Questions about the submission process should be directed to Prof. Sidney D. Watson at watsons@slu.edu or (314) 977-2751.

Submissions may be made by mail or email to:

CHERYL COOPER, Program Coordinator

Center for Health Law Studies
Saint Louis University

School of Law

100 N. Tucker Blvd. St. Louis, MO 63101-1930 T: (314) 977-3067 E: ccoope22@slu.edu

2017 TIMELINE

APR. 10 Submission of Abstracts for Consideration

MAY 19 Notification of Selection of Workshop Scholars

SEP. 21 Works-in-Progress Due

OCT. 12 - 14 Scholars Weekend