Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory


As an institution, Saint Louis University is fully accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. SLU has been continuously accredited since 1916.

  • Learn more about SLU’s institutional accreditation
  • Learn more about the Higher Learning Committee

Additionally, SLU has distinguished itself nationally via the accreditation of many of its colleges, schools and programs. 
View SLU's Accreditation Log

Institutional Accreditation Archives

Multi-Location Visit (2019)

Mid-Cycle Assurance Review (2016)

Magis: Advancing Mission into Saint Louis University's Third Century (2012)

A Decade of Renaissance: Self-Study for NCA Accreditation (2002)

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in 19 states: Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Ten Jesuit institutions of higher education are accredited by the HLC: Creighton, Detroit-Mercy, John Carroll, Loyola-Chicago, Marquette, Regis, Rockhurst, SLU, Wheeling Jesuit, and Xavier.

For background information about the Higher Learning Commission, visit For detailed information about the accreditation processes of the Higher Learning Commission, click on the "Accreditation" tab on the top HLC navigation bar. SLU’s official Statement of Affiliation Status with the Higher Learning Commission is also available online at

Steven Sanchez, assistant provost, serves as SLU's liaison to the HLC.  For more information about SLU's accreditation via the HLC, contact him at 314-977-2611 or