Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Board of Trustees

In 1967, Saint Louis University became the first major Catholic university in the United States to give lay and clergy people combined legal responsibility for institutional policy as members of its board of trustees. Today, the board is the principal governing authority for the University, charged with fiduciary responsibility and with preserving and enhancing SLU’s Jesuit mission.

ignatius statue quad

Members of SLU's Board of Trustees are elected to three­-year terms and may stand for re­-election for two additional three­-year terms. Trustees are volunteers and are not compensated for their service.

The board meets four times a year and has a number of standing committees that include faculty, staff and student representatives.

Current Board Members

Joseph Conran, Chair (’67, ’70)
Partner, Husch Blackwell LLP

Marian V. "Bo" Mehan, Vice Chair (’74,’82)
Partner and Estate Planning and Probate Department Co-chair, Lewis Rice

Albert C. Black Jr.
Founder, President and Chief Executive Officer, On­Target Supplies and Logistics

George Brill (’85)
Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Talisen Technologies Inc.

Thomas M. Buchanan (’77)
Managing Partner, Winston & Strawn LLP

Richard Chaifetz (’75)
Founder, Chairman and CEO of ComPsych Corporation; Founder and Chairman of Chaifetz Group, LLC.

W. Winston Chan (’81, ’83)
Chief Executive Officer, Corvusys Inc.

Robert J. Ciapciak (’79, ‘07)
Partner, Edward Jones

Gerald E. Daniels
CEO (retired), Boeing Military Aircraft and Missile

Jerome “Jerry” Dwyer, M.D. (’79, ’85)
Owner/Cardiologist, St. Louis Cardiology Center

Jimmie Edwards (’78, ’81, Hon.D ’14)
Public Safety Director, City of St. Louis

Robert N. Fox (’76)
Founder & Chief Executive Officer, NewSpace, Inc., the Clark­Fox Family Foundation

Anne Gagen (’72, ’76)
Managing Director (retired), the Private Bank

Michael Garanzini, S.J. (A&S ’71)
President, Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities 

Chang Soo Huh (’77)
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, GS Group

Edward B. Ignaczak
Executive Vice President Sales and Marketing (retired), Express Scripts

B. Todd Jones
Senior Vice President, Special Counsel for Conduct, National Football League

Darryl Jones (’77)
Managing Partner, D&D Concessions

Paul D. Kalsbeek
Regional Group Head, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

James P. Kavanaugh (’86)
Chief Executive Officer, World Wide Technology Inc.

Ronald J. Kruszewski
Chairman and CEO, Stifel Financial Corp.

Patrick Lo
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, NETGEAR

Virginia McDowell
President and Chief Operating Officer (retired), Isle of Capri Casinos Inc.

Michael C. McFarland, S.J.
Treasurer, USA Northeast Province of the Society of Jesus

Robert O'Loughlin
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Lodging Hospitality Management

George Paz
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (Retired), Express Scripts

G. Keith Phoenix (’74)
Senior Counsel, Sandberg, Phoenix & Von Gontard P.C.

Jacqueline Drury Pollvogt (’85, ’88)
Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Drury Development Corporation

Kristin Robertson (’05)
Vice President and Chief Engineer, Strike, Surveillance, and Mobility, The Boeing Company

Michael J. Sheeran, S.J. (’63, ’64, ’67, ’71)
President (retired), Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities

Rex A. Sinquefield (’67)
President, Show Me Institute

Philip Steele, S.J. (’71)
Rector, Jesuit Community of Saint Louis University

Gregory R. Stubblefield
Executive Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer, Enterprise Holdings, Inc.

Anthony “Tony” Tersigni (Hon.D ’11)
President/CEO, Ascension Health Alliance

Martha Uhlhorn
President/Owner, La Bonne Bouchée Wholesale Bakery and Gourmet To Go

Trudy Busch Valentine (’80)

University President Fred P. Pestello serves as an ex­-officio voting member of the board. Vice President and General Counsel William Kauffman is board secretary. 

Trustee Emeriti

SLU also has trustee emeriti, former trustees who do not make motions, vote or hold office, but are entitled to all other privileges of board members.

Current trustee emeriti are: J. Joe Adorjan, John Alberici, Barry Beracha, Thomas H. Brouster Sr., Walter Davisson, Charles L. Drury Sr., Aloys H. Litteken, Nancy Siwak, Francis A. Stroble and Kenneth Teasdale.